Sophie De Battista

Sophie DeBattista performed at L Fest 2015 on the Green Stage.

What is your artist name?

Sophie DeBattista

How would you describe what you do?

I'm a 21 year old, Pop/Rock singer-songwriter, inspired by many genres of music such as R&B, Jazz and Hiphop. I am studying Songwriting at The Institute of Contemporary Music Performance in London at the moment as I love creating and playing my own music. When I perform, I like to engage with the crowd and get as many people singing along as possible, this adds a bit of an energy boost to my performance which I love.

How long have you being performing/working?

I have been performing for quite some time now. I've loved music ever since I was little, I began to perform at the age of 7, but it was all very different back then. After moving to the UK around 3 and a half years ago, I really focussed in on my guitar playing and songwriting to begin defining my sound as an artist.

What has been the highlight of your career to date?

So far I have been lucky enough to have experienced many highlights since moving to London, which have all been equally as amazing. If I had to choose one however, it would definitely be performing my original song Beer Goggles live at London Pride in Trafalgar Square with my band. Having all those thousands of people dancing along and singing my song back at me was definitely a moment I will remember for a very long time.

Sophie DeBattistaHave you worked/performed for/with anyone famous?

Again, throughout my career in the UK, my music has been embraced and I have been lucky enough to perform on the same stage as some quite established names such as The Wanted, Misha B, Katrina (from Katrina and The Waves) and Konchita Wurst.

If you could perform/work with anyone, who would it be?

That is such a difficult question, there are so many people I would like to collaborate with. I think Ed Sheeran would definitely be on the top of that list, I love his Songwriting style and a co-write would be amazing!!

What is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure would definitely be a combination of One Direction, Chocolate and WWE :)

Tell us one secret about yourself...

I don't have many secrets to be honest, I'm generally quite an open book. I guess something that not many people know is that I used to be a really keen dancer and choreographer.

How and why did you get into this profession?

It all started when I was very young, back in Malta (which is where I was born and grew up), when I was between the ages of 7-11. I used to perform as part of a kids animation team, we would sing and dance and have the time of our life entertaining people. This is when I first fell in love with music and I've never looked back since - although naturally, what I do now is completely different to back then.

When you're not working what do you like to do to chill out?

I love going out with my friends, just meeting up and having a drink, or going to watch a movie. I equally love staying in and cooking a tasty meal or if I'm lazy I'll order take out. I quite enjoy going to the gym and having a swim when I can. And I think like many 21 year old girls out there, I love a bit of shopping.

Where can we find out more information?

My website holds all the information you'll ever need to know about me, including Facebook and twitter links, and with details to all my upcoming gigs. Also if anyone's interested, you can find some free downloads of my music through my website: